When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.~ Helen Keller

And there I stood, at the closed door, waiting…. Sometimes I knocked politely, adding a friendly “heelllooo, is anyone there?” Other times I raged, fist slamming and shoe kicking, leaving black smudges on the door, my spirit exhausted and depleted.

And the times I pleaded were by far the worst. None of my attempts to cajole, bribe or beg made that door open. I felt humiliated, embarrassed, my entire being filled with self-loathing. Until one day I woke up with a brilliant idea, excitement filling my soul.

So, there was the door.

I walked up to it, took a deep, deep breathe and reached out and turned the knob. And the door clicked open, just like that. I burst out in laughter, shaking my head in relief and disbelief. And I wasn’t even a bit surprised to see the reflection of myself smiling and shaking its head right back at me on the other side.

Life is just like that. Wherever it is, there we are. What door are you ready to open today? What are you ready to let go of, to embrace, to release so you be that much closer to that which is the authentic you?

With a head-shaking laughter and LOVE always,

Kate